Eastern District Honor Award

The Eastern District Honor Award is the highest award the district bestows upon a member. It represents professionalism, dedication, character, and service. To achieve this level of distinction is a testimony to one's career and involvement.

Nominee Qualifications
  • SHAPE America Membership: The nominee shall have been a member of SHAPE America for a minimum of 10 years, including the year he/she is considered for the award. Former SHAPE America members who have retired from the profession are exempt from this requirement.

  • Education: A bachelor's and master's degree are preferred, or substantial evidence of continued professional development in the fields of health, physical education, recreation or dance.

  • Character: Ethical behavior consistent with the accepted ideals of the profession.

  • Service: Contributions made primarily through professional associations at the state, district or national levels, with evidence of leadership in a least five (5) of the following categories:
    • president or vice president of a SHAPE America district

    • president or member of a SHAPE America council

    • member of SHAPE America Board of Directors

    • president or officer of a state association

    • chair or member of at least three committees or program sections at state, district or national level

    • president, officer or chair of organization in the profession

    • community or professional service relating to the profession

    • committee membership or leadership of note at place of employment

    • presentations, workshops or addresses before educational and/or civic groups in health, physical education, recreation or dance given in person, via radio, television or the Internet

    • evidence of published research or professional articles or book chapters in health, physical education, recreation or dance

    • author or co-author of one or more professional books

    • recipient of other professional honors

    • outstanding original contribution or unusual service to the profession which has affected its philosophy or practices, not included in the above categories
  • Application form, support letters and a photo must be submitted electronically by October 1 to the person listed below.

  • States or individuals may nominate candidates and submit to:

Ellen Benham

Deadline: October 1

Application and Qualifications

Honor Award recipients