2014 SHAPE America Award Winners

In the spirit of unification, AAHPERD President Gale Wiedow proudly announces the 2014 AAHPERD award recipients who will be recognized at the 129th annual AAHPERD National Convention & Expo in St. Louis. These outstanding individuals will be honored at the following functions during the week-long convention. We hope that you will come to these events and cheer on your local, state and district friends and colleagues. Our professions benefit daily from the hard work, dedication and vision of all of these individuals. Please join us in saluting these special AAHPERD members in St. Louis!

Wednesday, April 2

Curriculum & Instruction Luncheon

Curriculum & Instruction Honor Award
Phillip Ward, The Ohio State University

Jump Rope For Heart/Hoops For Heart Event

Jump Rope For Heart Recognition Award
James S. Brown, Slate Creek Elementary School, KS 
Dave Jones, Pleasant Ridge Elementary School, IL

Hoops For Heart Recognition Award
Christen Weatherford, Deer Creek Elementary School, OK

Thursday, April 3

McCloy Breakfast

Research Council Distinguished Service Award
Catherine Ennis, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Susan Hall, University of Delaware

Claudine Sherrill Awards Breakfast

Julian U. Stein Lifetime Achievement Award
David P. Beaver, Western Illinois University

Alliance Scholar Lecture

Alliance Scholar Award
Judith Rink, University of South Carolina

Majors of the Year Ceremony

Majors of the Year (dance, health and physical education)

Outstanding Mentor of the Year 

James Hannon, University of Utah

Teacher Education Honor Award
The Ohio State University

Celebration of Professional Excellence Ceremony

AAHPERD Honor Awards   
Kathleen Ann Cordes, CA (retired)
Lynn Couturier, State University of New York at Cortland

Gayle See, Seattle Public Schools, WA

Channing Mann K-12 Physical Education Administrator of the Year Award
Eric Larson, Denver Public Schools, CO

R. Tait McKenzie Award   
Charles W. Hungerford, PA (retired)
Gene White, East Stroudsburg University, PA

Social Justice and Diversity Young Professional Award      
Angela Beale, Adelphi University, NY

C.D. Henry Award            
Samuel Hodge, The Ohio State University
Mabel Lee Award

Timothy Brusseau, University of Utah
Sara Flory, University of Southern Florida

Ruth Abernathy Scholarships

Ryan Eberly, Buena Vista University, IA            
Peter Cody, Adelphi University, NY
Brian Kautz, Manchester University, IN

Steven Prewitt, University of Utah
David Schary, Oregon State University

North American Society of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport and Dance Professionals            
Barbara Ann Boyce, University of Virginia
Frances E. Cleland, West Chester University, PA            
Lori S. Dunn, Seattle Public Schools, WA
John J. Miller, Troy University, AL
Sally J. Scherrer, Central District AAHPERD, SD

Friday, April 4

Dance Scholar Artist Lecture

Karen Lynn Smith, Washington College, MD

Guiding Woman in Sport Luncheon  

Guiding Woman in Sport Award            
Sherri Murrell, Portland State University, OR

Hall of Fame Banquet 

Luther Halsey Gulick Award
Emily Wughalter, San Jose State University, CA

Joy of Effort Award
Georgi Roberts, Fort Worth School District, TX 

District Adapted Physical Education Recipients
Central:Michael Doyle, Wayzata Public Schools, MN
Eastern: Deborah Marcus, Marley Glen School, MD
Southern: Christina Luntzer, Williamsburg James City County Schools, VA 
District Dance Recipients
Central: MacKenzie Mushel, Rocky Mountain High School, CO
Eastern: Kandice N. Point-Du-Jour, Columbia High School, NJ
Northwest: Sandee Schwann Nelson, Minico High School, ID

District Health Education Recipients
Central:Diane Titterington, Tonganoxie Elementary School, KS
Eastern: Joseph Halowich, Parkside High School, MD
Midwest: Heidi Stan, Riverside Junior High School, IN
Southern: Amy Prior, Harding University High School, NC

District Physical Education Elementary School Recipients
Central: Shelly Hoffman, Franklin Elementary School, KS
Eastern: Margaret Robelee, North Park Elementary School, NY
Midwest: Aleta Jo Crotty, Mercer Elementary School, WV
Northwest: Cheryl Wardell, Bonny Slope Elementary School, OR
Southern: Brian Devore, Mountain View Elementary School, GA
Southwest: Kelly Blayer, Palm Valley Elementary School, AZ
District Physical Education Middle School Recipients
Central: Diane Wyatt, Abilene Middle School, KS
Eastern: Piper Cronin, Rye Junior High School, NH
Midwest: Beth Kriech, SUPER School #19, IN
Northwest: Cece Badda, Easton School District #28, WA
Southern: Carolyn Deeb, Avalon Middle School, FL
Southwest: Janae Ballingham, Carson Valley Middle School, NV

District Physical Education High School Recipients
Central: Kelli Tuttle, Sioux City East High School, IA
Eastern: Anthony Loomis, Naugatuck High School, CT
Midwest: Maureen Vorwald, Platteville High School, WI
Northwest: Jennifer Loomis, Capital High School, MT
Southern: Scott Gerlach, Oldham County High School, KY

Hall of Fame
Ronald Feingold, Adelphi University, NY 

Hall of Fame
Olympian Jackie Joyner-Kersee

Be sure to tweet out your support and congratulate these award winners for their incredible commitment to their local communities and to our profession as a whole by using the official convention hashtag #STLOUIS2014!