Press Release


10 Players Added to List of 'Wade Watch Hopefuls'

ATLANTA (Feb. 10, 2014) – The Wade Trophy Committee has added 10 additional student-athletes to the 2014 "Wade Watch" list, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), on behalf of the Wade Trophy Coalition, announced today.

Joining the preseason list of 25 Wade Watch hopefuls are Tiffany Bias of Oklahoma State, Hallie Christofferson of Iowa State, Christina Foggie of Vanderbilt, Markeisha Gatling of N.C. State, Dearica Hamby of Wake Forest, Natasha Howard of Florida State, Alexis Jones of Duke, Tricia Liston of Duke, Jewell Loyd of Notre Dame, and Tiffany Mitchell of South Carolina.

The Wade Trophy Coalition presents The Wade Trophy to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player each year – one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. The Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce The Wade Trophy winner at the fourth annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 7, which is part of the 2014 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®, in Nashville.

Here is the complete 2014 State Farm Wade Watch list:

Name Institution Position Year
Natalie Achonwa Notre Dame Forward Senior
Rachel Banham Minnesota Guard Junior
Tiffany Bias Oklahoma State Guard Senior
Brittany Boyd California Guard Junior
Gennifer Brandon California Forward Senior
Hallie Christofferson Iowa State Forward Senior
Jerica Coley FIU Guard Senior
Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Senior
Aaryn Ellenburg Oklahoma Guard Senior
Christina Foggie Vanderbilt Guard Senior
Markeisha Gatling NC State Center Senior
Basharra Graves Tennessee Forward Sophomore
Chelsea Gray Duke Guard Senior
Dearica Hamby Wake Forest Forward Junior
Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Senior
Jordan Hooper Nebraska Forward Senior
Natasha Howard Florida State Forward Senior
Alexis Jones Duke Guard Sophomore
Tricia Liston Duke Guard Sophomore
Jewell Loyd Notre Dame Guard Sophomore
Maggie Lucas Penn State Guard Senior
Tyaunna Marshall Georgia Tech Guard Senior
Kayla McBride Notre Dame Guard Senior
Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina Guard Sophomore
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis Connecticut Forward Junior
Chiney Oqwumike Standford Forward Senior
Theresa Plaisance LSU Forward Senior
Ebony Rowe Middle Tennessee Forward Senior
Shoni Schimmel Louisville Guard Senior
Meighan Simmons Tennessee Guard Senior
Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Senior
Breanna Stewart Connecticut Forward Sophomore
Alyssa Thomas Maryland Forward Senior
Elizabeth Williams Duke Center/Forward Junior

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), now known as the Society of Health and Physical Educators, doing business as SHAPE America. For the past 11 years the two have worked together to present The Wade Trophy player of the year award. A committee composed of coaches, administrators and media from across the U.S. selects the winner.


About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association promotes women’s basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit

About SHAPE America
SHAPE America - Society of Health and Physical Educators is committed to ensuring all children have the opportunity to lead healthy, physically active lives. As the nation's largest membership organization of health and physical education professionals, SHAPE America works with its 50 state affiliates and national partners to support initiatives such as the Presidential Youth Fitness Program, Let's Move! Active Schools and the Jump Rope For Heart/Hoops For Heart programs.

Since its founding in 1885, the organization has defined excellence in physical education, and our resources provide the leadership, professional development and advocacy that support health and physical educators at every level - from preschool to university graduate programs. For more information, visit