2016 SHAPE America Award Winners



Congratulations to the following 2016 SHAPE America award recipients.


Curriculum & Instruction Special Interest Group Honor Award

Ron McBride, Texas A&M University


Research Council Distinguished Service Award

Kim Graber, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign


2016 Research Fellows of SHAPE America

Timothy Baghurst, Oklahoma State University
Stephen Harvey, West Virginia University
Insook Kim, Kent State University (OH)
Jared Russell, Auburn University (AL)
Paul Stuhr, California State University, San Marcos


Adapted Special Interest Group Awards

Julian U. Stein Lifetime Achievement Award

Dale Ulrich, University of Michigan


Outstanding Program Award

U-Fit, University of Utah


Outstanding Student Recognition Awards

Doctoral Student Recipient: Jill Pawlowski, Oregon State University

SHAPE America Scholar Award 

Samuel Hodge, The Ohio State University


Majors of the Year (All HPERD-related fields)

Outstanding Mentor of the Year

Paul Wright, Northern Illinois University


SHAPE America Honor Awards

Renee Colleran, Northshore School District (WA)
Curt Martin, SHAPE America Eastern District (NH)


Jump Rope For Heart and Hoops For Heart Recognition Award

Jody Miller, St. George Elementary (KS)
Liz Giles-Brown, South Bristol School (ME)


Jump Rope For Heart/Hoops For Heart Grant Awardees

Annette Brewer, Albany Elementary School (MN)
Katy Elbe, C.A. Henning Elementary School(IL)
Alexandra Fowler, James T. Jones Elementary School(MI)
Christa Hayes, Machetanz Elementary School(AK)
Dave Isenberg, Millville Elementary School (MA)
Susan Kuhn, Dodgeland Elementary School(WI)
Jason Naquin, Lakeside Primary School (LA)
Vince Nemeth, Roxboro Elementary School(OH)
Jason Theodosiou, Ladue Middle School (MO)
Jake Zanetti, Lake Avenue Elementary School (NY)


Teacher Education Honor Award

Carol Ciotto, Central Connecticut State University


Channing Mann K-12 Physical Education Administrator of the Year Award

Lori Dunn, Seattle Public Schools (WA)


Margie R. Hanson Elementary Physical Education Distinguished Service

Fran Cleland, West Chester University of Pennsylvania


R. Tait McKenzie Award

Linda Woods Huber, Pennsylvania State AHPERD


Charles D. Henry Award

Joe Burden, Jr., City University of New York – Brooklyn College


Mabel Lee Award

Collin Brooks, R.E. Jewell School (OR)
Karen Quintana, Jefferson Elementary School (IL)
David Wachob, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Xihe Zhu, Old Dominion University (VA)


Ruth Abernathy Presidential Scholarships

Maleda Funk, The College at Brockport: State University of New York
Megan Hubbard, Purdue University (IN)
Lena Sargenti, Ithaca College (NY)
Nicole Galbraith, Brigham Young University (UT)
Kim Rogers, Oregon State University

Bill Kane Undergraduate Scholarship

Sara Vincent, Winona State University


Barbara A Cooley Scholarship

Heather Michelle Loran, University of North Florida


North American Society of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport and Dance Professionals

Kristine R. Fritz, Retired, Early Learning Center (WI)
Jayne D. Greenberg, Miami-Dade County Public Schools (FL)
Shawn Ladda, Manhattan College (NY)
Judy LoBianco, South Orange-Maplewood School District (NJ)
Lynn Couturier MacDonald, SUNY Cortland (NY)
John M. Zody, Fort Hays State University (KS)


Presidential Citations

Tracy Krause, Tahoma High School (WA)
Kirk Mathias, Central Washington University


LeRoy T. Walker Young Professional Award

Albert Bimper, Jr., Colorado State University


E.B. Henderson Award

Angela Shorter, Delaware State University


The Measurement & Evaluation Special Interest Group Graduate Scholarship

Heontae Kim, Middle Tennessee State University


Guiding Woman in Sport Award

Jessica Mendoza, ESPN


Luther Halsey Gulick Award

Shirley Holt/Hale, Retired, Linden Elementary School (TN)


Joy of Effort Award

Delcinda Saito, Mokulele Elementary School (HI)


District Adapted Physical Education Teachers of the Year

Central: Kelly Kennedy, Greeley-Evans School District 6 (CO)
Eastern: Tracy Newlove Sharlow, St. Lawrence-Lewis BOCES (NY)
Midwest: Caryl Dazer, Cass Elementary School (MI)
Southern: Anna Roberts, Cobb County School District (GA)


District Dance Education Teachers of the Year

Eastern: Maria Royals, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology (MD)
Southern: Scott Williams, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School (VA)


District Health Education Teachers of the Year

Eastern: Melanie Lynch, State College Area High School (PA)
Midwest: Jenny Berju, Creekside Middle School (IN)
Southern: Mary McCarley, Hawthorne Academy of Health Sciences (NC)


District Elementary Physical Education Teachers of the Year

Central: Beau Bragg, Bonner Springs Elementary School (KS)
Eastern: Brian Godfrey, Richmond Elementary School (VT)
Midwest: Penny Kroening, Summit View Elementary School (WI)
Northwest: Shawn Patterson, Crimson Point Elementary School (ID)
Southern: Benjamin Pirillo, Hughston Elementary School (TX)


District Middle School Physical Education Teachers of the Year

Central: Karl Ely, Christa McAuliffe Academy (KS)
Eastern: Debra A. Pinto, Hopkinton Middle School (MA)
Midwest: Donna Hazelett, Woodside Middle School (IN)
Southern: Ron Trainum, Toano Middle School (VA)


District High School Physical Education Teachers of the Year

Central: Monique Guidry, Boulder High School (CO)
Eastern: Kathleen Brophy, Wellesley High School (MA)
Midwest: Adam Havice, Muncie Central High School (IN)
Northwest: Sara Russell, Tahoma Junior High School (WA)
Southern: Timothy Powers, Eau Gallie High School (FL)


Hall of Fame Inductee

Mario Reyna, McAllen Independent School District (TX)
Lindsay Whalen, U.S. Olympian & Minnesota Lynx point guard
Alan Faneca, Former NFL All-Pro & Super Bowl champion