Mabel Lee Award

The Mabel Lee Award recognizes younger members who have demonstrated outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and/or professional leadership. The Mabel Lee Awards are chosen in two membership categories, "college and university" and "non college and university." A maximum of two awards are presented in each category in a given year.

The Mabel Lee Award was established in 1976.

The recipient shall:
  • Currently be a member of SHAPE America.
  • Be less than 36 years of age as of October 15 of the year of nomination submission.
Award Criteria
  • Demonstrate a quality of performance that, if continued, indicates that they will develop into distinguished members of the profession.
  • Demonstrate outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and/or professional leadership as reflected by (a) exemplary teaching abilities; (b) significant publications; (c) citations, awards, or other recognition for outstanding teaching, coaching, administration, or performing; or (d) active leadership roles in SHAPE America.
Mabel Lee

Mabel Lee was the first female president of the American Physical Education Association in 1931-32 and a leader in athletics for women. She graduated magna cum laude from Coe College. Lee spent the bulk of her professional career at the University of Nebraska –Lincoln. Mabel Lee served as director of physical education for women at UNL from 1924-1952.