2016 District Teachers of the Year

SHAPE America is proud to announce its 2016 District Teachers of the Year for adapted physical education, dance education, health education and physical education. 

These individuals were honored during the 2016 SHAPE America National Convention & Expo. Find out which district award recipients were named national Teachers of the Year.


Introduction    |   Adapted PE   |   Dance Education   |   Health Education   |   Elementary PE   |   Middle School PE   |   High School PE




Adapted Physical Education

Central: Kelly Kennedy, Greeley-Evans School District 6 (CO)
Eastern: Tracy Newlove Sharlow, St. Lawrence-Lewis BOCES (NY)
Midwest: Caryl Dazer, Cass Elementary School (MI)
Southern: Anna Roberts, Cobb County School District (GA)

Dance Education

Eastern: Maria Royals, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology (MD)
Southern: Scott Williams, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School (VA)

Health Education

Eastern: Melanie Lynch, State College Area High School (PA)
Midwest: Jenny Berju, Creekside Middle School (IN)
Southern: Mary McCarley, Hawthorne Academy of Health Sciences (NC)

Elementary Physical Education

Central: Beau Bragg, Bonner Springs Elementary (KS)
Eastern: Brian Godfrey, Richmond Elementary School (VT)
Midwest: Penny Kroening, Summit View Elementary (WI)
Northwest: Shawn Patterson, Crimson Point Elementary (ID)
Southern: Benjamin Pirillo, Hughston Elementary School (TX)

Middle School Physical Education

Central: Karl Ely, Christa McAuliffe Academy (KS)
Eastern: Debra A. Pinto, Hopkinton Middle School (MA)
Midwest: Donna Hazelett, Woodside Middle (IN)
Southern: Ron Trainum, Toano Middle School (VA)

High School Physical Education

Central: Monique Guidry, Boulder High School (CO)
Eastern: Kathleen Brophy, Wellesley High School (MA)
Midwest: Adam Havice, Muncie Central High School (IN)
Northwest: Sara Russell, Tahoma Junior High School (WA)
Southern: Timothy Powers, Eau Gallie High School (FL)
Thank you to Sportime & SPARK for sponsoring the SHAPE America Teacher of the Year program.
 Meet our 2016 District Teachers of the Year