Eastern District Awards

Eastern District/National Awards

Teacher of the Year Award

The SHAPE America Teacher of the Year (TOY) program recognizes outstanding teachers in adapted physical education, school health education, dance education and physical education at the elementary, middle and high school levels. To be eligible for the Eastern District Teacher of the Year award, members must have received their state's TOY award.

States should submit applications of their state winners to Ellen Benham, Eastern District awards chair. For more information on this national awards program, please visit the SHAPE America website.

District Awards

Linda Woods Huber Recognition Award

This award is given annually to a maximum of two individuals recognized for their distinguished service that take place within and/or outside the fields of health and physical education and reflect prestige, honor, and dignity on the association.

Honor Award

The highest award the district can bestow upon a member. It represents professionalism, dedication, character and service. To achieve this level of distinction is a testimony to one's career and involvement. Nominations of individuals should be sent directly to the district Honor Award chair. 

Outstanding Professional Leadership Award

This award is given annually to a maximum of two people who have provided exceptional leadership to the organization in the fields of health and physical education.

Robert M. Pate (Student) Scholarship

This award is given annually to an outstanding undergraduate student who exemplifies professionalism, academic achievement, service and character. Institutions are encouraged to nominate deserving students. Nominations should be sent directly to the Robert M. Pate Scholarship chair.

Tilia J. Fantasia Service Award

With this award, Eastern District recognizes an individual or organization making a significant contribution to the district. Recipients do not need to be a member of SHAPE America, but should exhibit exceptional leadership and/or service. The Eastern District Leadership Council solicits nominations through proactive identification of individuals or organizations deserving of this honor.

Margaret Paulding Lecturer Award

This award is given to a woman serving in higher education who is actively involved in research, program development and activities in physical education, sports, exercise science or related areas. Nominations should be sent directly to the Margaret Paulding Lecturer Committee chair.

Outstanding Future Professional Award

The Outstanding Future Professional Award reflects the Eastern District's commitment to future leaders. Each state, district and territory within the Eastern District is eligible to submit two outstanding future professionals for recognition at the district level. Institutions of higher education should send their nominees to their state president, or state designated contact person, who will forward the two state names to the Outstanding Future Professional coordinator.


Inside Eastern District