2017 District Teachers of the Year

SHAPE America is proud to announce its 2017 District Teachers of the Year for adapted physical education, dance education, health education and physical education. 

These individuals will be honored during the 2017 SHAPE America National Convention & Expo in Boston at the Hall of Fame Banquet.



Adapted Physical Education

Central: Sarah Jo Heath, Maize High School (KS)
Midwest: Amy Oliver, Muncie Central High School (IN)
Southern: Lara Brickhouse, Durham Public Schools (NC)

Dance Education

Eastern: Chase Haglund, Arundel Middle School/Corkran Middle School (MD)
Midwest: Melinda Wilson, Curie Metropolitan High School (IL)
Southern: Bette Jean Santos, Murray High School (VA)

Health Education

Central: Deanne Romero, Silver Hills Middle School (CO)
Eastern: Catherine Egan, Glastonbury High School (CT)
Midwest: Andrew Milne, New Trier High School (IL)
Southern: Andrea Samsky, Armstrong Elementary School for the Arts (VA)
Southwest: Nadine Marchessault, Mauka Lani Elementary School (HI)

Elementary Physical Education

Central: Marlys Gwaltney, Bentley Primary School (KS)
Eastern: Lynn Hefele, Southdown Primary School (NY)
Midwest: Karen Petermann, Longfellow Elementary (WI)
Northwest: Jenna White, Orion Elementary School (AK)
Southern: Emily Adams, Kennesaw Elementary School (GA)
Southwest: Courtney Teatro, Stevenson Elementary School (AZ)

Middle School Physical Education

Central: Cynthia Johnson, Esko Public Schools (MN)
Eastern: Douglas Hallberg, Mohonasen Central School District (NY)
Midwest: Tim Mueller, Erin School District (WI)
Northwest: Debra Sension-Hall, Hellgate Middle School (MT)
Southern: Laura Prior, Tuscaloosa Magnet Schools - Middle (AL)
Southwest: Susan Erickson, William P. Jarrett Middle School (HI)

High School Physical Education

Central: Abby Goodlaxson, Okoboji High School (IA)
Eastern: Elizabeth Burkhart, Wilson High School (PA)
Midwest: Linda Carlson, Oak Park and River Forest High School (IL)
Northwest: Kim Jackson, Franklin Pierce High School (WA)
Southern: William Bode, Performance Learning Center High School (NC)
Thank you to Sportime featuring SPARK, the exclusive sponsor of the SHAPE America Teacher of the Year program.