2019 SHAPE America Award Winners

Congratulations to the following 2019 SHAPE America award recipients and lecturers, who will be recognized at the SHAPE America National Convention & Expo in Tampa.
These outstanding individuals will be honored at several different functions during the week-long convention. We hope you will come to these events and cheer on your colleagues. Our professions benefit daily from the hard work, dedication and vision of all of these individuals.


Wednesday, April 10

SHAPE America Scholar Lecture

8:00 am – 9:15 am, Marriott – Florida Salon IV

Duane Knudson, Texas State University, Lecturer

General Session

10:30 am – 12:00 pm (TCC - Convention Exhibit Hall West)

Local Arrangement Co-Chairs Award
Ashley Grimes and Holly Newnam

Curriculum & Instruction Forum

8:00 am – 9:15 am (Marriott - Meeting Room 5)

Curriculum & Instruction Honor Award
Ping Xiang and Stephen Harvey

Helen Heitmann Young Scholar Award
Tan Leng Goh



Thursday, April 11

C.H. McCloy Breakfast & Lecture

7:00 am – 8:30 am (Marriott - Grand Salon C)

Mary O’Sullivan, University of Limerick, Ireland, Lecturer

Research Council Distinguished Service Award

RQES Writing Award

Research Fellows

Research Student Awards

Claudine Sherrill Awards Breakfast

7:30 am – 9:30 am (Marriott - Grand Salon D)

Julian U. Stein Lifetime Achievement
Marty Block, University of Virginia

Adapted PE/Activity Graduate Student of the Year Award
Adam Pennell, University of South Carolina

Adapted PE Program of the Year Award
University of New Hampshire

Raymond A. Weiss Lecture

11:15 am – 12:30 pm (Marriott - Florida Salon IV)

Louis Harrison, University of Texas at Austin, Lecturer

Rachel Bryant Lecture

1:45 pm – 3:45 pm (Marriott – Meeting Room 5)

Emily H. Wughalter, San Jose State University, CA, Lecturer

Guiding Woman in Sport Award
Sue Zipay, All-American Girl's Professional Baseball League player

Majors of the Year Ceremony & Reception

1:45 pm – 3:45 pm (Marriott – Florida Salon V & VI)

Majors of the Year (All HPERD-related fields)

Mentor of the Year
Ingrid Johnson, Grand Valley State University, MI

Professional Excellence Awards Ceremony

4:30 pm – 5:45 pm (Marriott - Grand Salon G - I)

Mabel Lee Award
Catherine Abel-Berei, Southern Connecticut State University
Rebecca Lambdin-Abraham, Austin Independent School District, TX
Risto Marttinen, George Mason University, VA
Richard Wiles, Anne Arundel County, MD

E.B. Henderson Award
John Strong, Niagara County Community College, NY

Leroy T. Walker Young Professional Award
Langston Clark, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Julian U. Stein Lifetime Achievement
Marty Block, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA

Joy of Effort Award
Carol Ciotto, Central Connecticut State University
Sally Nazelrod, MAHPERD, Executive Director

Mentor of the Year
Ingrid Johnson, Grand Valley State University, MI

Hall of Fame Award
Jayne Greenberg, Retired District Director of Physical Education and Health Literacy, Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Luther Halsey Gulick Award
Stephen L. Cone, Professor Emeritus, Health and Exercise Science Department, Rowan University, NJ

Ruth Abernathy Presidential Scholarships
Alexis Kane, SUNY Cortland, NY
McKenzie Kirtz, University of Wisconsin La Crosse
Ellisyn Shuang Mularski, Slippery Rock University, PA

John Rech, Masters, University of Nebraska at Kearney
Victoria Ivy, Doctoral, University of Alabama

Bill Kane Undergraduate Health Education Scholarship
Rebecca Houston, Utah State University

Barbara A. Cooley Master’s Health Education Scholarship
Danielle LaRocque, Cambridge College, MA

North American Society of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport and Dance Professional –Fellows (NAS)

Presidential Citations

Friday, April 12

Sixth Annual Measurement and Measurement (M&E) JoAnne Safrit Keynote Lecture  

2:30 pm – 3:45 pm (Marriott – Meeting Room 5)

Safrit Lecturer 
Dr. James Morrow, Retired, University of North Texas, Lecturer

MPEES Reviewer of the Year
Dr. Ryan Burns, University of Utah

Hall of Fame Celebration & Give Back Event

5:30 pm - 7:30 pm (Marriott - Grand Salon E & F)

District Adapted Physical Education Teachers of the Year
Central: Bryan Wickoren, Jeffco Public Schools (CO)
Eastern: Nicole McCoy, School District of Lancaster (PA)
Midwest: Tara McCarthy, Cooperative Association for Special Education (IL)
Southern: Bethany Chapple, Lake Windward Elementary (GA)
Western: Toni Bader, Seattle Public Schools (WA)

District Dance Education Teachers of the Year
Central: Nicole Peterson, West Fargo High School (ND)
Eastern: Leslie Pieters, Roosevelt UFSD (NY)

District Health Education Teachers of the Year
Central: Leah Swedberg, West Fargo High School (ND)
Eastern: Nicole Beard, Severna Park Middle School (MD)
Midwest: Scott Todnem, Scullen Middle School (IL)
Southern: Frannie Kendall, Duval County Public Schools (FL)

District Elementary Physical Education Teachers of the Year
Central: Sally Schulte, Heritage Primary School (MO)
Eastern: Donn Tobin, Lakeview Elementary School (NY)
Midwest: Chris Berg, Aspen Creek K-8 School (CO)
Southern: Mark Banasiak, Sango Elementary School (TN)
Western: Chellie LaFayette, Highland Park Elementary (WA)

District Middle School Physical Education Teachers of the Year
Central: Murray Wallace, Erie Middle School (CO)
Eastern: Bryan Godfrey, Magothy River Middle School (MD)
Midwest: Selene Kelley, Gahanna Middle School South (OH)
Southern: Russ McHenry, Northern Guilford Middle School (NC)
Western: Jennifer Mettler, Alice C. Stelle Middle School (CA)

District High School Physical Education Teachers of the Year
Central: Melanie Zerr, Timberland High School (MO)
Eastern: Shelly Connors, Auburn Junior High School (NY)
Midwest: Molly Dado, Hudson High School (WI)
Southern: Shannon Morrison, Montgomery Central High School (TN)
Western: Dan DeJager, UnSchool (CA)