Mabel Lee Award

The Mabel Lee Award recognizes younger members who have demonstrated outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and/or professional leadership. The Mabel Lee Awards are chosen in two membership categories, "college and university" and "non college and university." A maximum of two awards are presented in each category in a given year.

The Mabel Lee Award was established in 1976.

Please read the following statement from SHAPE America President, Brett Fuller, regarding the Mabel Lee Award.

The recipient shall:
  • Currently be a member of SHAPE America.
  • Be less than 36 years of age as of October 15 of the year of nomination submission.
Award Criteria
  • Demonstrate a quality of performance that, if continued, indicates that they will develop into distinguished members of the profession.
  • Demonstrate outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and/or professional leadership as reflected by (a) exemplary teaching abilities; (b) significant publications; (c) citations, awards, or other recognition for outstanding teaching, coaching, administration, or performing; or (d) active leadership roles in SHAPE America.
Mabel Lee

Mabel Lee was the first female president of the American Physical Education Association in 1931-32 and a leader in athletics for women. She graduated magna cum laude from Coe College. Lee spent the bulk of her professional career at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln. Mabel Lee served as director of physical education for women at UNL from 1924-1952.

To Submit a Nomination:

Read the general requirements. Include the following in the award submission:

  • Curriculum vita (CV) not to exceed 10 pages. Reviewers will not read more than 10 pages.
  • Two (2) letters of support from nominators. Letters should specifically address the criteria for the award and how the person qualifies.
  • Biographical sketch (250-300 words)

Deadline is extended to November 2nd.

Submit via email to:

More Awards and Programs