LeRoy T. Walker Young Professional Award

The LeRoy T. Walker Young Professional Award is given to a minority member of SHAPE America who is 36 years old or younger who has demonstrated superior promise in the areas of service, teaching, scholarship and commitment to the goals of SHAPE America focusing specifically on under-represented and/or underserved populations and promotion of diversity and inclusiveness. Not more than one LeRoy Walker Young Professional award shall be given annually.

The recipient shall:
  • Be a current, actively involved minority member of SHAPE America.
  • Be thirty-six (36) years of age or younger as of October 15 of the year of nomination submission.
  • This award is restricted to minority candidates (including but not limited to, Asian, African, Hispanic, and Native American) as defined by the U. S. Government. [The U. S. Government approach (based on the collection of census data) is to accept individual self identification of minority status.]
  • Previous recipients of the Social Justice and Diversity Young Professional Award given under the Ethnic Minority Council or AAHPERD Social Justice and Diversity Committee are ineligible.
Award Criteria
  • Have demonstrated outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and/or professional leadership.
  • Have evidence of recognized teaching ability, significant publications and citations, awards, or other recognition for outstanding teaching, coaching, administration, or performance.
  • Have evidence of active leadership roles in advancing diversity and inclusiveness in the profession(s).
LeRoy T. Walker

LeRoy T. Walker (June 14, 1918 – April 23, 2012) was an icon. A noted author, professor, coach, and administrator in the disciplines of physical education and athletics, he was a barrier-breaking and remarkable human being who was dedicated to promoting and uplifting young people.

Walker was Chancellor Emeritus of North Carolina Central University (NCCU) in Durham, NC. He was elected President of the Athletics Congress (now USA Track & Field), the national governing body of USA Track & Field. Walker was elected President Emeritus of the United States' Olympic Committee (the first and only American to hold this position) and was a former president of AAHPERD (from 1977-1978, also the first African American to be elected to this position). Walker was inducted as a member into 17 Halls of Fame, awarded 16 Honorary Doctorates from a variety of institutions, and received numerous awards, including the Luther H. Gulick Award (1982), SHAPE America's highest honor.

To Submit a Nomination:

Read the general requirements. Include the following in the award submission:

  • Curriculum vita (CV) not to exceed 10 pages. Reviewers will not read more than 10 pages.
  • Two (2) letters of support from nominators. Letters should specifically address the criteria for the award and how the person qualifies.
  • Biographical sketch (250-300 words)

Deadline is October 15. Submit via mail or email to:

SHAPE America Awards
1900 Association Drive
Reston, VA 20191
[email protected]

More Awards and Programs