2019 District Teachers of the Year

SHAPE America is proud to announce its 2019 District Teachers of the Year for adapted physical education, dance education, health education and physical education. These individuals will be honored during the 2019 SHAPE America National Convention & Expo in Tampa at the Hall of Fame Celebration and Give Back Event. Send them a congratulatory tweet #SHAPETampa.

   | Introduction |   |   Adapted PE | | Dance Education | | Health Education | | Elementary PE | | Middle School PE | | High School PE

Adapted Physical Education

Central: Bryan Wickoren, Jeffco Public Schools (CO)
Eastern: Nicole McCoy, School District of Lancaster (PA)
Midwest: Tara McCarthy, Cooperative Association for Special Education (IL)
Southern: Bethany Chapple, Lake Windward Elementary (GA)
Western: Toni Bader, Seattle Public Schools (WA)

Dance Education

Central: Nicole Peterson, West Fargo High School (ND)
Eastern: Leslie Pieters, Roosevelt UFSD (NY)

Health Education

Central: Leah Swedberg, West Fargo High School (ND)
Eastern: Nicole Beard, Severna Park Middle School (MD)
Midwest: Scott Todnem, Scullen Middle School (IL)
Southern: Frannie Kendall, Duval County Public Schools (FL)

Elementary Physical Education

Central: Sally Schulte, Heritage Primary School (MO)
Eastern: Donn Tobin, Lakeview Elementary School (NY)
Midwest: Chris Berg, Aspen Creek K-8 School (CO)
Southern: Mark Banasiak, Sango Elementary School (TN)
Western: Chellie LaFayette, Highland Park Elementary (WA)

Middle School Physical Education

Central: Murray Wallace, Erie Middle School (CO)
Eastern: Bryan Godfrey, Magothy River Middle School (MD)
Midwest: Selene Kelley, Gahanna Middle School South (OH)
Southern: Russ McHenry, Northern Guilford Middle School (NC)
Western: Jennifer Mettler, Alice C. Stelle Middle School (CA)

High School Physical Education

Central: Melanie Zerr, Timberland High School (MO)
Eastern: Shelly Connors, Auburn Junior High School (NY)
Midwest: Molly Dado, Hudson High School (WI)
Southern: Shannon Morrison, Montgomery Central High School (TN)
Western: Dan DeJager, UnSchool (CA)


Thank you to School Specialty, the exclusive sponsor of the SHAPE America Teacher of the Year program.