C.D. Henry Award

The C.D. Henry award provides the means through which SHAPE America recognizes essential contributions of its members who, through distinguished service: increase involvement of ethnic minorities in SHAPE America; increase communication with greater numbers of ethnic minority members; and extend meaningful services to SHAPE America ethnic minorities.


Channing Mann Administrator of the Year Award

The Channing Mann Administrator of the Year Award honors individuals who have dedicated themselves to excellence as administrators or supervisors, in contributions to their profession, and in service to the mission of SHAPE America and school leadership. These individuals exemplify the highest standards in accomplishment and innovation, in strong and vigorous leadership and in significant scholarship within the field.


E.B. Henderson Award

E.B. Henderson was a noted author, teacher, coach, and administrator in the disciplines of physical education and athletics. The E.B. Henderson Award recognizes minority SHAPE America members who, through numerous years of proven dedication to scholarship, mentorship, and service to ethnic minorities, have increased involvement of ethnic minorities and/or underserved populations within their profession, SHAPE America, or society.


Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame Award honors outstanding individuals who make significant contributions to maintaining physical and health education, physical activity, dance and sport as important parts of the total educational program.


Honor Award

The Honor Awards are bestowed annually for meritorious service by members of SHAPE America and to the professions represented. The awards recognize contributions on the part of members of the association in two membership categories: "college and university" and "non-college and university."


Joy of Effort Award

The Joy of Effort Award honors individuals who, by performance and style, have personified the concept that the effort made to enrich the goals and objectives of health and physical education, physical activity, dance, and sport is a labor of love, inspired by commitment and dedication.


LeRoy T. Walker Young Professional Award

The LeRoy T. Walker Young Professional Award is given to a minority member of SHAPE America who is 36 years old or younger who has demonstrated superior promise in the areas of service, teaching, scholarship and commitment to the goals of SHAPE America focusing specifically on under-represented and/or underserved populations and promotion of diversity and inclusiveness. Not more than one LeRoy Walker Young Professional award shall be given annually.


Luther Halsey Gulick Award

The Luther Halsey Gulick Medal is awarded as the highest honor SHAPE America bestows in recognition of long and distinguished service to one or more of the professions represented in the Association.


Mabel Lee Award

The Mabel Lee Award recognizes younger members who have demonstrated outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and/or professional leadership. The Mabel Lee Awards are chosen in two membership categories, "college and university" and "non college and university."


Margie R. Hanson Elementary Physical Education Distinguished Service Award

The Margie Hanson Distinguished Service Award is awarded for service and educational contributions to physical education in the early childhood or elementary levels.


NAGWS Legacy Award

National Girls and Women in Sports (NAGWS) was founded in 1899 with the mission of increasing opportunities for girls and women in sport.


North American Society of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport and Dance Professionals Award

Established in 1999, the North American Society (NAS) recognizes outstanding professionals from within the allied professions of health education, physical education, recreation, sport and dance in North America.


Outstanding Physical Activity Leader Award

The Outstanding Physical Activity Leader (PAL) award recipient should exemplify leadership within the Physical Activity Leader (PAL) Learning System,and champion a comprehensive school physical activity program within their respective community.


R. Tait McKenzie Award

The R. Tait McKenzie Award is bestowed annually in recognition of distinguished service by members, which takes place outside the framework of SHAPE America but which reflects prestige, honor, and dignity on the association. The award was first bestowed in 1968. Not more than two McKenzie Awards may be presented each year.